Fédération Internationale des Quilleurs
World Games
FIQ Disciplines


The FIQ regulates two disciplines - tenpin and ninepin. The two organizations that administer these disciplines are the World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA) and the World Ninepin Bowling Association (WNBA). Both organizations were founded by the FIQ in 1973.


Tenpin is divided into three geographical zones - Asian, American, and European. Ninepin is divided in three sections: Classic, Schere and Bohle.Both disciplines conduct numerous world and regional championships for men, women, and youth.



World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA)






There are over 100 million bowlers that practice tenpin bowling and at least 10 million of these take part in tournaments, leagues and championships.


The WTBA is divided into the following geographical zones:



Asian zone: Asian Bowling Federation - ABF








European zone: European Tenpin Bowling Federation - ETBF  










American Zone: Pan American Bowling Confederation - PABCON









World Ninepin Bowling Association (WNBA) 






The WNBA counts approximately 250.000 members in 26 countries on three continents (Europe, South America and Asia).


The WNBA organises World and Continental Championships for all age groups.International Matches and International Competitions also regularly take place.


Because of different types of bowling alleys, the WNBA is divided in three sections or sub disciplines: Breitensport (NBBK), Classic (NBC) and Schere (NBS). Bohle and Schere lanes require wood or plastic running surface. Classic ones have exclusively plastic running surfaces implemented by using plastic-coating or building material in form of segment-plates.





Section Classic - NBC









Section Bohle - NBBK










Section Schere - NBS